top of page

From Gaby Ramia - Sydney, Australia

I was very saddened to read about the death of Professor Deacon. I met him quite a few times, mainly to do with the journal,Global Social Policy, when he was editor. I did not know him well. For me, as I imagine for many others, his writings and his activism in international and global fora are without parallel. He did more than any other to inject ‘the social’ into global governance.

His scholarly influence was well and truly felt also in my home nation of Australia. As well as citing him many times, I recall teaching a contemporary issues course within a department of management studies where I was employed at the time, and more or less sneaking in global social policy content mainly from Bob’s work. I viewed it as a fundamental part of the education of people who might lead in business as in other professional settings. He will be sorely missed, and in more arenas than one.

Gaby Ramia

--

Associate Professor Gaby Ramia

Department of Government and International Relations

Associate Dean (Postgraduate Coursework Programs) | Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences

The University of Sydney

Room 486, Merewether Building (H04) | The University of Sydney | NSW | 2006


  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page