top of page

From Shana Cohen - Dublin, Ireland

I met Bob when I joined the faculty of the sociology department at the University of Sheffield. I helped Bob set up the Masters in Global Social Policy Programme there and eventually we collaborated on an article for Global Social Policy. I also wrote a chapter for the edited volume in his honour. He was an inspiration in his originality and creativity, as well as his integrity. He was not content with mainstream ideas and not afraid to challenge consensus. On a personal level, he was one of the few people I have met who truly appreciated radical thinking, in the sense of reaching beyond established frameworks and concepts in order to conceive of alternative policy responses, even if few others understood. He supported me through difficult times professionally. Now that I am in a policy position, I hope I can contribute to the field he gave so much to in his career. Shana Cohen Director, TASC (Dublin) Associate Researcher, University of Cambridge


  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page