top of page

From Melissa Mouthaan - Cambridge, UK

It is with great sadness that I learned of Bob's passing early last week. As one of his students in the Masters course in Global Social Policy that Bob led at the University of Sheffield, I recall above all his unwavering dedication to the cause of advancing social protection and policy around the world. Bob's mentoring gave rise to my own desire to work in social policy, while his support as well as his constructive criticisms allowed me to better myself as a researcher. He showed no tiredness in pursuing social justice in all areas - whether it was his significant contributions as an academic, in practice with his work for the ILO and other international organisations, or as part of his local community of Hebden Bridge. Bob was a giant in the field of Global Social Policy - a field he largely helped establish. He will be sorely missed. My thoughts are with his friends and family. MELISSA MOUTHAAN PhD student Centre of Development Studies Department of Politics and International Studies University of Cambridge


  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page