top of page

From Tuba Agartan - Providence, USA

Bob’s work on social policy is one of the reasons why I chose to work on welfare states and global social policy as a doctoral student many many years ago. His commitment to social protection and social justice was a true source of inspiration that shaped my research agenda in the following decade. I got the chance to meet Bob for the first time in 2004 in Budapest and since then he has been a wonderful colleague and a mentor. I owe my first conference presentation as a nervous graduate student to him at the RC 19 Annual Meeting in Florence. It was during that global social policy panel that I met some of my best friends and colleagues who have accompanied me in my path all through these years. Whenever we met, usually at a panel or conference dinner, Bob would listen attentively as he always did, and would gently steer me towards the main target, reminding me why I do this work and what I need to do next to get there. It is with great sadness that I learned that Bob has passed away. I will miss him very much but at the same time believe that he will continue to show us the way as a true source of inspiration and role model.

Tuba I Agartan Associate Professor of Health Policy and Management Providence College, USA


  • Facebook Black Round
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
bottom of page